Management Team

Cath Tate (Chair)

Cath joined PACE in October 2016, within months of starting her first role as executive assistant to the board and CEO at Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA).  She willingly admits she underestimated the role of an EA before ‘taking it on’.

Until October 2020, Cath juggled multiple work-steams as Operations and Membership Manager, then became fully focussed on CE, board and trust support asTIA’s Manager-Executive. Since leaving TIA in 2022, Cath has worked in short term roles reporting to the CE, at Toi Mai WDC, Toka Tu Ake EQC and currently at RNZ.

As a relative newbie to the EA world, Cath has been very appreciative of PACE. By joining the Management Team in October 2020 and now as chair, she hopes her association management experience and governance training can contribute to PACE’s continuing success. 

Brigid Kavanagh-Dee (Treasurer)

Brigid is currently taking a break from the paid workforce to manage her farm and home projects with her husband and enjoying the company of her many pets.  Prior to this she had worked at Massey University based in Palmerston North since 2004 and from 2008-2023 as Executive Assistant to the Vice-Chancellor.  Previous to this she had been employed in various administrative roles in the private sector in Auckland, the Australian local government NSW and the Royal New Zealand Air Force which took her throughout NZ and overseas.

Brigid has been a member of PACE since 2015 and joined the Management Team as Treasurer in 2017.

Emma Holmes (Secretary)

Emma has been a member of PACE for a number of years and joined the Management Team in October 2019. Emma works as the EA to the President at NZ School Trustee Association. Previously she was EA to the CEO and Board at WellingtonNZ, the regional development agency which markets Wellington to the world; and EA to CEO of ServiceIQ, the Industry Training Organisation for the service industry. Prior to that Emma worked at Parliament for 17 years, being Rt Hon Sir John Key’s EA for 12 years including 6 years as the Prime Ministers Personal Private Secretary. As relaxation Emma enjoys reading, cinema, travelling and medieval history - currently being Chair of the New Zealand branch of the Richard III Society.

Nola McKean

Julie Oldershaw

Laraine Thomson (General Member)

Laraine joined the Management Team in December 2022 as a General member.